Is hemp legal in wyoming
To request public records from the WDA, please send an email to [email protected]
Donate to the WSF Endowment
Donate to the Wyoming State Fair Endowment TODAY!
Google Apps Sign-On
|Wyoming Hemp Program|
Current Status of Hemp Program in Wyoming:
The WDA hemp plan was accepted by the USDA on February 20, 2020. The Governor, in consultation with the Wyoming Attorney General’s office, then approved emergency rules drafted by the WDA to initiate a hemp program and start accepting applications prior to the 2020 growing season. These emergency rules were in place until the final rules were promulgated and implemented on August 13, 2020. Below you will find a copy of the rules, the hemp license application, sampling and testing information, and more.
USDA Interim Final Rule
The USDA has released an interim final rule regarding the establishment of a U.S. Domestic Hemp Production Program. For information on the interim final rule and the help program at the USDA, click, visit https://www.ams.usda.gov/rules-regulations/hemp
Hemp Information from Governor Gordon’s Office
To read a update on hemp in Wyoming from Governor Gordon that includes a background, the current status of hemp, and a list of frequently asked questions,
Wyoming Department of Agriculture
LEARN | LAWS & REGULATIONS
Is weed legal in Wyoming?
No. Wyoming has not legalized recreational or medical marijuana, therefore it is against the law to use or possess cannabis in the state.
However, hemp-derived cannabidiol (CBD) products that contain less than 0.3% THC by weight are legal to use and possess.
On March 6, 2019, the state enacted HB0171 , which was signed into law by Gov. Mark Gordon. It gave the Department of Agriculture authority over hemp production and regulation.
After the signing of HB0171, the Department of Agriculture submitted its plan for regulating hemp in the state to the US Department of Agriculture. The act formally removed hemp-derived CBD from Wyoming’s list of controlled substances.
There were at least two attempts by advocates to place marijuana legalization on the state ballot, including an effort to get it in front of voters in 2018 . But advocates failed to gather enough signatures to qualify.
In Wyoming, the penalties for those caught with marijuana are among the harshest in the United States. Being found under the influence of marijuana is considered a misdemeanor punishable by six months imprisonment and a $750 fine. Growing, drying, or processing cannabis can result in a misdemeanor, six months imprisonment, and a $1,000 fine. Possession of less than 3 ounces (85 grams) can result in a misdemeanor, 12 months imprisonment, and a $1,000 fine. Additionally, possession within 500 feet of a school is punishable by an additional fine of $500.
The full list of penalties can be found on the Wyoming State Legislature website.
View the cannabis & CBD laws & regulations for Wyoming.