Categories
BLOG

does arkansas have medical weed

Arkansas Medical Marijuana FAQs

If you are applying for a medical marijuana card in Arkansas, you probably have a lot of questions about the process. Here’s the most frequently asked questions we receive about applying, using, and buying medical cannabis in the Natural State.

Is Medical Cannabis Legal in Arkansas?

The passage of the Arkansas Medical Marijuana Amendment (AMMA), also known as Issue 6, legalized medical marijuana in the state in 2016. This law allows patients with certain qualifying conditions to purchase and use medical marijuana and establishes rules for dispensaries and cultivation facilities. Here’s a paragraph

While the medical use of marijuana is legal, recreational use and possession, as well as selling marijuana without the proper licensing, is illegal. If you need medical marijuana in Arkansas, contact us at The Sanctuary to connect with a licensed physician who can evaluate your condition and help you through the process.

How Do I Apply for an Arkansas Medical Marijuana Card?

To apply for a medical marijuana card in Arkansas, you will need to:

  1. 1. Meet a licensed Arkansas medical marijuana doctor to evaluate your qualifying condition.
  2. 2. Obtain a certification to use medical marijuana from your physician.
  3. 3. Submit an application to the Arkansas Department of Health (ADH) with your certification, proof of residency and identity, and a $50 fee.
  4. 4. Wait 10 to 14 days for your application to process.
  5. 5. Receive your cannabis card in the mail upon approval.

How Much Cannabis Can I Legally Purchase in Arkansas?

You can purchase up to 2.5 ounces or 71 grams of medical marijuana every 14 days from a single dispensary. You must buy your cannabis from a state-licensed dispensary.

What Conditions Qualify for an Arkansas Cannabis Card?

To qualify for an Arkansas medical marijuana card, you must have one of the following qualifying conditions.

  1. HIV/AIDS
  2. Crohn’s disease
  3. Cancer
  4. Glaucoma
  5. ALS
  6. Alzheimer’s disease
  7. Post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD)
  8. Tourette’s syndrome
  9. Cachexia
  10. Fibromyalgia
  11. Hepatitis C
  12. Peripheral neuropathy
  13. Intractable pain
  14. Seizures
  15. Severe and persistent muscle spasms
  16. Ulcerative colitis
  17. Severe nausea
  18. Severe arthritis

If you have a condition that is not on this list but may qualify for medical marijuana treatment, speak with a licensed Arkansas physician. Any other medical condition or its treatment can be approved by the ADH for a cannabis card.

I Have a Caregiver. Can They Purchase Medical Marijuana for Me?

Caregivers can apply for a marijuana ID card to help provide medical cannabis to their patients. Your caregiver will need to apply for a designated caregiver registry card and meet certain requirements defined by the ADH.

Where Can I Purchase Medical Marijuana in Arkansas?

You must purchase your cannabis at a state-licensed dispensary. You can about Arkansas Marijuana dispensaries currently in operation here.

Where in Arkansas Can I Use Medical Cannabis?

If you have a medical marijuana card, you can only use medical cannabis inside of your home. Consuming medical marijuana in public could lead to serious legal consequences. For best results, keep it inside!

Can I Grow My Own Cannabis Plants with an Arkansas Cannabis Card?

Arkansas’s medical marijuana laws do not allow patients or caregivers to grow marijuana plants. You must purchase your cannabis at a licensed dispensary.

Need an Arkansas Medical Marijuana Card?

If you are an Arkansas resident who has a qualifying condition and needs a medical marijuana card, contact the Sanctuary today. Our friendly staff will gladly connect you with a qualified physician who can help you get the treatment you need.

Guided Meditation

Anyone can learn to meditate! While meditation can be done anywhere, any time, in our group.

Cannabis Card

Medical Marijuana Card Doctor Evaluations are now available at the Sanctuary. The doctor will evaluate your condition and is authorized to issue your card.

Massage

Come experience a massage with anyone on our team of talented Licensed Massage Therapists. We offer most modalities of massage, delivered in our beautiful and serene rooms at The Sanctuary.

Medical Marijuana can treat many conditions. Call us to discuss the benefits and schedule an appointment

LEARN | LAWS & REGULATIONS

Arkansas

Is weed legal in Arkansas?

Adult-use cannabis is prohibited in Arkansas, though patients with qualifying conditions and their doctors’ approval may consume medical marijuana.

In 2020, the Arkansas Recreational Marijuana Initiative failed to receive enough signatures to appear on the general election ballot. If passed, the initiative would have legalized marijuana use in Arkansas for adults age 21 and over. The measure may be revisited in the 2022 election cycle.

Legislation history

Prior to Arkansas’ legalization of medical cannabis, the city of Eureka Springs passed a voter initiative in 2006 to make marijuana crime enforcement a low priority. Fayetteville passed a similar voter initiative in 2007.

Arkansas voters approved the Arkansas Medical Marijuana Amendment (AMMA), or Issue 6, with 53% of the vote on Nov. 8, 2016. The law allows seriously ill patients to obtain and consume medical marijuana with a doctor’s approval and establishes licenses for state cultivation facilities and dispensaries.

Regulation authority

The Arkansas Department of Health (ADH) issues medical marijuana ID cards for patients and caregivers. The state’s Alcoholic Beverage Control Division regulates dispensaries and has issued regulations for dispensing and cultivation. The Arkansas Medical Marijuana Commission has also been created under the AMMA to regulate licensing of dispensaries and cultivation facilities and support the Alcoholic Beverage Control Division in implementing regulations.

Where is it safe to purchase weed in Arkansas?

All medical marijuana products must be purchased through medical marijuana dispensaries registered with the state. Patients must show their medical marijuana ID card to purchase from a dispensary. Caregivers are allowed to purchase medical marijuana for their designated patient, provided they show their designated caregiver registry card.

Finding licensed dispensaries in Arkansas

Medical marijuana cardholders can find licensed dispensaries in Arkansas and search by major metro areas including Hot Springs, Jonesboro, and Little Rock. Many dispensaries in Arkansas offer delivery and curbside pickup services in addition to storefront sales.

Where is it safe to consume weed in Arkansas?

Arkansas patients may consume medical marijuana only in their homes. Consumption in public is not allowed.

Possession and cultivation limits

No patient or caregiver cultivation is allowed.

Patients and caregivers may purchase up to 2.5 ounces, or 70.87 grams, of medical cannabis every 14 days from one state-approved dispensary. There are restrictions for pain patients, but the ADH can add new conditions for eligibility. All medical marijuana used by qualifying patients in Arkansas must be grown and treated inside state boundaries.

Recreational possession is illegal. Possession of less than 4 ounces, or 113.4 grams, of marijuana on a first offense is a misdemeanor that comes with up to one year in jail and a fine of up to $2,500.

Cultivation is prosecuted as either simple possession or possession with intent to deliver, depending on the amount of marijuana being produced. Possession of less than 14 grams, or half an ounce, is a misdemeanor that carries a possible jail sentence of up to one year and a $2,500 fine. More than 14 grams is considered a felony with penalties depending on the quantity. Any amount greater than 4 ounces carries a mandatory minimum three-year prison term and $10,000 fine.

Medical marijuana program

Qualifying conditions

  • Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis, or Lou Gehrig’s disease
  • Alzheimer’s disease
  • Cachexia, or wasting syndrome
  • Cancer
  • Crohn’s disease
  • Fibromyalgia
  • Glaucoma
  • Hepatitis C
  • HIV/AIDS
  • Intractable pain, defined as pain that has not responded to ordinary medications, treatment, or surgical measures for more than six months
  • Peripheral neuropathy
  • Post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD)
  • Seizures, including those characteristic of epilepsy
  • Severe arthritis
  • Severe and persistent muscle spasms, including those characteristic of multiple sclerosis
  • Severe nausea
  • Tourette’s syndrome
  • Ulcerative colitis
  • Any other medical condition or its treatment approved by the ADH

Patients suffering from medical conditions that aren’t on the list may file a petition with the ADH to receive access to medical marijuana.

Application process

Prospective medical marijuana patients in Arkansas can register with the ADH online . Both patients and caregivers must pay a $50, non-refundable fee. Caregivers must also pay $37 for a background check. If the caregiver is the legal guardian or parent of a patient who is a minor, the caregiver is not required to undergo a background check or pay the $37 fee.

To qualify, patients must:

  • Be 18 years of age or older (minors may qualify with parental consent)
  • Be diagnosed with a qualifying medical condition
  • Have official written certification from a physician (physicians must certify patients by filling out and signing the ADH-approved certification form)
  • Show proof of Arkansas residency

Members of the Arkansas National Guard and United States Military do not qualify for medical marijuana.

Reciprocity

Arkansas allows medical marijuana patients with valid recommendations from other states to access medical marijuana provided they fill out a visiting patient form and provide proof of out-of-state registration.

Lab testing

The ADH requires cannabis in the state to be tested by an analytical testing laboratory for the following:

  • Microbiological contaminants
  • Solvents
  • Water activity and moisture content
  • Cannabinoid concentrations (CBD and THC)
  • Heavy Metals

Licensing for dispensaries and cultivators

All dispensary applicants must pay a $15,000 application fee, half of which will be refunded to unsuccessful applicants. After applying for a license to sell medical cannabis in the state of Arkansas, applicants must also pay a $15,000 license fee and carry a $100,000 performance bond. Cultivators who are awarded a license must pay a $100,000 license fee and carry a $500,000 performance bond.

CBD and hemp rules in Arkansas

After the passage of the 2018 Farm Bill , which legalized hemp (cannabis with less than 0.3% THC) and allowed for its cultivation and distribution as an agricultural product, the Arkansas legislature also passed HB 1518 , which decriminalized hemp-derived cannabidiol (CBD). As a result, hemp-derived CBD is regulated within the state’s medical marijuana program.

This page was last updated on September 14, 2020.

View the marijuana laws & regulations for Arkansas.